musicology #510


CoversWeek2 #7

(Bill Withers – Let It Be)

Final day of the second instalment of the covers theme..yet again there’s too many to choose from so rather than waste precious time deliberating I’m just going to lay this cut on you. Yet another one from themusicologist’s memory banks..Bill Withers 1971 version of the Beatles song Let It Be. Highlighted from his first LP ‘Just As I am’. Produced, arranged and featuring ‘Booker T’ Jones as well as the combined talents of Stephen Stills, Jim Keltner, Bobbye Hall Porter and Al Jackson Jnr. Recorded and released on the Sussex label.

“When I find myself in times of trouble Brother Billy comes to me,
Speaking words of wisdom, Let It Be ohhh Let It Be..”

New theme starts tomorrow…

One thought on “musicology #510

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.