musicology #509


CoversWeek2 #6

(Donny Hathaway – Jealous Guy)

Somewhat of a dilemma over today’s slice..1 artist 2 majestic covers..what one to lay down? Donny’s version of Ray Charles’s ‘I Believe To My Soul’ or John Lennon’s ‘Jealous Guy’ ?? hmmm I think it’s going to be ‘Jealous Guy’. Nothing to choose between them as I said…both top of the ‘covers tree’ but something about this one that resonates stronger with me than ‘I Believe’. Am I a ‘Jealous Guy’…not neccesarily but I know I have been. Is it jealous or insecure? it’s a thin line indeed. Insecure…for sure so in true dialogue style hold this one from Donny’s Live set. Before I finish I just want to add how much I feel the man’s authenticity come through in his music…genuine dialogue between a man and his inner being I believe.

Others of note are Marvin Gaye, of course master John Coltrane, Gil Scott Heron, Terry Callier, Curtis Mayfield, Paul Weller, Dinah washington, Sam Cooke, Billie Holiday…there are others I could add but those are the ones who come immediately to mind without thinking long and hard. Recorded live, (1972), at the Bitter End and featuring Cornell Dupree, Mike Howard, Willie Weeks, Fred White and Earl DeRouen

3 thoughts on “musicology #509

  1. Donny Hathaway has made a remarkably clever cover here. Ordinarily I would say that John Lennon is such an iconic figure that his songs are un-coverable. Many have tried and failed, but Donny has made the song his own, so much so that it is impossible to compare with the original. Certainly the best I’ve heard of the many cover versions of this song.

    Like

    1. thanks for the comment..always welcome
      Read and enjoyed your piece on Coltrane’s Giant Steps.
      For me the master is unique in his ability to transcend the earthly plane with the universal language..and when he ‘speaks’ I’m always listening

      Like

Leave a Reply

