musicology #506


CoversWeek2 #3

(Solomon Burke – Maggies Farm)

bit later than expected on yesterday’s George Benson cut so I’m laying today’s slice of the covers pie down early…before I get sidetracked with my load. Cat still has my tongue a piece so without further delay hold Solomon Burke’s Rhythm & Blues version of Bob Dylan’s protest song. Especially poignant in the 21st Century as ‘Maggie’s Farm’ is well on the way to selling us into a desolate future full of debt, fear and loathing. Watch the ride, make sure you wear your seatbelt and brace yourself for the crash…heading our way sometime over the next 2/3 years.

One thought on “musicology #506

  1. much as I like Mr Burke and his backing musicians have to say ol Bob’s version and the way he delivers the lines in a more viseral way do it more for me….. as for the sentiments I’m certainly feeling the ‘man’ on me back …….where are them hills?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.