musicology #227


communication #5

(Curtis Mayfield – Oh So Beautiful)

what more can I say about one of the 20th Century’s greatest musical communicators? regulars to themusicologist will know how much the man has been an inspiration to me. featured heavily over the last 20 months and will be featured many, many more times in the future.

This cut is taken from his final album New World Order. Recorded seven years after the incident that not only paralysed but was eventually to kill him. Remarkably he managed to finish this set laying on his back, (the only way he could get enough air into his lungs), singing one line at a time. After he recorded each line, the songs were edited together.

Eric Clapton is quoted to have called it “the greatest album of the year”

Curtis, step up and let us know what ‘time’ it is.

LISTEN TUNE…..

“It is glorious….
this is Curtis…never forget the life we live is oh so beautiful, yeah…
this life we live, (life we live) is oh so beautiful, (oh it’s so beautiful),

and I just want to tell you, i’m inspired to live my life,
you trust in me I trust in you, we try to do what’s right,
long as we we can grow, it doesn’t matter where you go,
there’ll always be you see, some sacrifice,

????????????????????????????
sometimes I gotta struggle day and night,
but I must do what I do,
cos life is truly really good,
now it’s time to get the money and watch my people grow,
and now I gots to go to another level,
I made my moves, and paid my dues it’s on again, (it’s on again yeah),

this life we live, (life we live) it is oh so beautiful, (is oh so beautiful), oh so beautiful,
(oh so beautiful life is beautiful),
the love we give, (the love we give), is oh so beautiful, (is oh so beautiful),

to see the sun shine,
you gotta come out sometimes,
it’s not for us to know, or wonder why,
reaching out in harmony,
praying for longevity,
just trying to find,
some meaning of my life

know when life’s got a way of making things look tough,
but still i’m thinking that is not enough,
t’aint ever make me feel like giving up,
i’m never gonna stop, don’t stop, won’t stop
i gots to have my fun,
wont be like be that it will be so dull and done
so I’m chillin’ and ill never fake the fun, (don’t fake the fun, don’t fake the fun)

this life we live, (life we live) is oh so beautiful, (oh so beautiful), oh so beautiful,
(oh so beautiful oh yeah)
this love we give, (the love we give), is oh so beautiful, (is oh so beautiful), oh so beautiful,
(so beautiful)

imagine if the people of the world girl,
could find the balance, to take the challenge, my my,
just to solve your conflict with another,
sister and brother,
father and mother, hey hey

to reap all the glory,
we must take inventory,
and love everything in it,
cos this is our planet,

this life we live, (this life we live) is oh so beautiful, (oh so beautiful), oh so beautiful,
(do you know what I’m talking about),
this love we give, (yeah, yeah), it is oh so beautiful, (oh yeah), oh so beautiful, (it is glorious),
this life we live is oh so beautiful, (you got to reap everything you sow in life, oh yeah) oh so beautiful,
keep love on the planet we live in,
this love we give, (oh yes) is oh so beautiful,
smell a rose sometime, stop this crime

4 thoughts on “musicology #227

  1. Those words are WONDERFUL…I’m in awe
    of his commitment to finish the job in hand ‘on his back’, and his determination to spread a message of love and hope even in such difficult circumstances….unfortunately we haven’t been able to listen to him singing it yet as the track’s not on the widget box!? so look forward to that treat.

    Like

  2. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    glad you let me know…in my haste I forget to upload the cut onto the boxnet….it’s there now

    Like

  3. great song; at times reminded me of ‘whats going on’ in feel and once or twice in the way it sounded – dont get better than that in my opinion

    Like

  4. just as I thought, a treat well worth waiting for, a very gentle Curtis Mayfield, it was great having the words to read along with him singing so fanx for that ,its a message that will stay with me.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.