musicology#0732


Nubag #1 (a year in the life)

My Mama Told Me – Justin Hinds and the Dominos

monkey-year

So much to say but, words, for me, don’t do thoughts/feelings justice. That said, I will do my best with the vocabulary I ‘have’ in an effort to communicate my thoughts/feelings on the what, why, how, when of the nubag (new bag) that I feel like working out of for the new year.

Interestingly and without my knowledge (but not without my understanding), the time has come and the nu beat is being played and the dance begins TODAY.

Not ONLY is it the dawn of spring it is also the dawn of the final phase (for me) and rebirth is coming as we ‘sail into the mystic’…

My aim is to post a tune every day between Feb 8th (new years day) and Jan 27th (year end), a marathon for sure but I will give it my best ‘shot’. The music will be diverse.

First up a top ranking piece of, (late), Ska from a king of Jamaican music, Justin Hinds (and the Dominos), one of the pioneers of the vocal group style at his/their very best. Recorded for the mighty Duke, the Trojan, Reid and released on his Treasure Isle Label. Echoes of and certainly inspired by Curtis Mayfield and Jerry Butler’s early Soul killer .. I’m a Telling You. One more example of Curtis Mayfield’s contribution to the development of Jamaican music.

 

4 thoughts on “musicology#0732

  1. this is a fantastic (for me) piece of music..it filled my whole body…good to know its the begining of things

    Like

  2. Really good to have you back friend. That’s an ambitious target you’ve set yourself for the year, and I am keen to hear what is in store for us. Are you planning any sub-themes or will the music just come as it comes?

    Like

    1. Yes Ian, thank you. No sub themes in mind, as it comes and see what unfolds. Exciting project for me though, (and I do love a project)…
      Good to know you’re on board.

      Like

Leave a Reply

