musicology #638


tUmp #1

the Wailers – Where is my mother

been busy…(still am), as I continue crossing the border into the ‘brave new world’ where the ‘immaterial’ is overtaking the ‘material’ and hegemony reigns…

but for me themusicologist has always been the space where I come to let off, connect and communicate with music that speaks so today sees the beginning of a new theme….tUmp (theUrbanMusicologyProject), of which there are, (already), material and immaterial parts.

The first step I took over the brave new threshold was here with themusicologist almost 5 years ago but the actual journey was already well under way. I’m a traveller, (it’s my nature), and I’m always ‘on the road’ with music as my only consistent companion along the way. theUrbanMusicologyProject is who, what and why I am and the next few weeks is the latest movement in the(Urban)musicologist’s symphony.

First up is a cut from the Wailers whose Urbanmusicology I was originally introduced to by my family in the early 1970’s, (‘Catch a Fire’ with the zippo style album cover), and it was there that my Jamaican music lesson began and the ‘SouL RebeL’ sound has remained a BIG part of my narrative ever since.

Today’s unreleased? accoustic cut is from the mid 60’s features the mighty trio at the place where their combined journey began, Sir Coxsone’s mighty Brentford Road musical power-house…Studio 1.

Leave a Reply

