musicology #0607


Blues’N’Rhythm #2

Joe Turner & Pete Johnson – Roll ‘Em Pete

As important as Sam Cooke was to Soul, Big Joe took Jump, Boogie Woogie, Blues and Rhythm rolled them all up into a package and fathered Rock & Roll. Of course there were others who contributed, (Louis Jordan, Count Basie, Amos Milburn, Wynonnie Harris to name but 4), and as with all ‘Popular’ music no one person was responsible but as Doc Pomus is quoted to have said “Rock & Roll would never have happened without him…and as previously mentioned on themusicologist the dynamic duo’s late 40’s cut ‘Rocket 88 Boogie’ was the ‘inspiration’ behind Ike Turner’s seminal ‘Rocket 88’, a tune that has long been canonised into Rock and Roll history..

Today’s cut was recorded in the Big Apple on December 30th 1938…I’ll repeat that 1938 and released on a Columbia 78, which I was planning on laying down here but in truth it’s a piece scratchy !! so instead it’s the (top quality 24 bit), remastered version that certainly does the original justice….I can only imagine what it would have been like to witness these two in action back in Kansas City in the 1930’s a musical hotbed that kicked every bit as hard as Chicago, New Orleans and New York…Roll ‘Em Pete….

8 thoughts on “musicology #0607

  1. Good ol feel good music, nice one Liam 🙂 I did a tour of the South a couple of years ago…Alabama, Nashville, Memphis (I even cut a track at Sun Studios haha) and my favourite of all time New Orleans..what a fabulous place…took my Mum to Gracelands too all good all good!! Lol xx

    Like

  2. When I get my time machine working we’ll go back to 1938 and witness this marvellous cut being recorded. I can’t match you for a 78 version but I first heard this on Paul Oliver’s “Story Of The Blues Vol 1” when I was about 16, and it never fails to get my feet tapping. Wonderful !

    Like

    1. Ian, liking the sound of that…wouldnt mind attending The ‘Spirituals To Swing’ and Sam Cooke at the Harlem Square..sure I can think of MANY others but they’ll do for starters !

      Like

  3. Big Joe,yes he was number one.Together with Amos Milburn he made so much really great music and with Pete Johnson it was real quality music.All these digital guys poncing around today just haven’t got it.I’ll stick by Big Joe and Amos until my last breath

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment Paul and apologies for not responding earlier. themusicologist is my cathartic ‘Goldmund’, wandering about aimlessly in a struggle to find myself. Music is, was and will always be where I am ‘at’ and Big Joe, Amos, T Bone, (among MANY others), are always by my side to soothe, guide and comfort ‘along the way’. Can only dream of how it must have been to see the singing barman in action..

      Like

      1. Hi! Thanks for your reply brother! Wow I Love every one who loves this music! Just Playing Amos’ ‘Blues at Sundown’ ,the piano break leaves me cold!Agree with you there are many other greats,Archibald being one of many N.O. players whose music easily finds its way onto a turntable.I have three rigs up and running ,a Luxman,a Marantz and an HH Scott so I have to switch when the amps get warm! Keep the faith brother!

        Yours in real music! PaulT Sent from my iPad

        >

        Like

Leave a Reply

