musicology #555


Shake It Up & Go #2

(Ike & Tina Turner – Tina’s Dilemma)

Part two of the ‘Shake’ selection that I played on Saturday night. Big Rhythm & Blues cut courtesy of the Trailblazing Ike Turner, featuring Tina on vocals and, I imagine, the Iketttes on backup.

I remember when I laid down a tribute to Ike on themusicologist to mark his passing I found myself in dialogue with some who felt it was their duty to remind me of his treatment of Tina and pour scorn on the man for his behaviour. I replied that themusicologist is a page for honouring music and passing judgement on peoples ‘business’ holds absolutely no interest for me. Personally I have never laid a hand on a woman or bullied anyone but I have seen the results of it for myself and knew the couple very well and I remember asking her, (as I found it impossible to comprehend), why she stayed to which she replied wholeheartedly that she loved him….who was I to argue.

45 on Juggy Murray’s Sue Label released in the pivotal year of 1962, (important year for mod/ernists)

Listen Tune…

One thought on “musicology #555

  1. this is how I like Ike n Tina Turner, I think her voice is so suited to rythm n blues….and ’62 the
    year this modernist hit the dancefloors in earnest!

    Like

Leave a Reply

