musicology #547


Jamaica #27

(Bob Andy – Life)

Today’s 1972 cut features the magnificent and supremely talented Keith ‘Bob Andy’ Anderson, (for me one of Jamaica’s premier artists). Founder member of the Paragons whose songwriting is second to none. I must confess that over the past few weeks I have been suffering and once again it has been holding the musicology back so rather than allow my inner turmoil to stop the flow I’ll just let the music speak for a while…

Listen the ‘ride’…

“forget about stupidity,
discover your ability,
develop your creativity,
cultivate humility,
to bear the stormy weather….”

4 thoughts on “musicology #547

  1. this track is as near perfect as music gets for me..BobAndy’s voice is so beautiful it brings a tear to my eye, and we wouldn’t go far wrong if we heeded the words o this song .

    Like

  2. Well, we have got to No. 27 and I have listened to them all but rarely been moved to comment until now. This cut is the first one where, for me, the music is subordinate to the lyric. Don’t get me wrong, the music is there, but I am compelled to listen to and absorb the message of the song. And what a message it is. An anthem for life, an alternative Desiderata, I love it.

    Like

    1. Ian,
      the power of music in all it’s glory. thanks for the comment always a pleasure to hear from you and you are absolutely right…an anthem for life indeed..please excuse the delay in responding…I’m in one of life’s gully’s at the moment and themusicologist is under pressure.

      Like

  3. The power of music indeed. Sounds like you’re in need of some “I figure whenever you’re down and out, the only way is up” music. That may sound flippant but I find that the way out of a rut is often to do some lateral thinking. Listen to someting completely different for a change, and find a song in another genre that gives you the inspiration to try a new direction. Doesn’t always work, but worth a try…

    Like

Leave a Reply

