musicology #512


Duets2 #2

(Am I A Good Man – Them Two)

Today’s marrow trembler finds themusicologist standing in ‘still waters’ that run almost too deeeeeeeeeep and I’m probably shooting myself in the foot by peering into the darkest recesses of my soul in such a public way but authenticity compels me to continue asking the question….what/who am I? (not that I’m expecting or even asking for an answer as I don’t believe there is a definitive but unfortunately that doesn’t stop the internal dialogue).

Paradoxically? the question has reared it’s head at the onset of this ‘Harmony’ theme but in the words of Blues man supreme Little Willie Littlefield ‘Life is like that’ and no amount of running and hiding will alter a truth.

The musicology presented by the TOP RANKING Numero Label was originally recorded for and released on Miami’s Deep City label sometime in the late 60’s? and features the combined harmonies of Clarence Reid and Willie Clarke ably backed and driven by Helene Smith, Arnold Albury and Reed Roberts. For me music doesn’t get ‘better’ than this…what a tune.

har·mo·ny

–noun,plural-nies.

agreement; accord; harmonious relations.
a consistent, orderly, or pleasing arrangement of parts; congruity.
Origin:
1350–1400; ME armonye < MF < L harmonia < Gk harmonía joint, framework, agreement, harmony, akin to hárma chariot, harmós joint, ararískein to join together

—Related forms

non·har·mo·ny, noun,plural-nies.
pre·har·mo·ny, noun

—Synonyms
1. concord, unity, peace, amity, friendship. 2. consonance, conformity, correspondence, consistency.

8 thoughts on “musicology #512

  1. “authenticity compels me to continue asking the question….what/who am I?”

    With all due respect… I think you’ll find, the more you dig the deepest question is not who or what am I.

    It is WHY?

    And cleverer bods than you (or I) have pondered that one without finding the answer. So my advice is………………..

    Like

  2. I sincerely hope that, eventually, you will, like me, get to the point when you decide “I am happy with what/who I am” and the soul-searching can stop. I’m guessing you’re not there yet, but believe me, it feels good when you do.

    Obscure music by obscure artists released on long forgotten labels run by “two hook blade-slinging, middle school-teaching, coed-trapping thugs” – (not my words, but from the Deep City Soul notes on the Numero website) The musicology is fascinating.

    Like

    1. Ian..looks like I might have given the wrong impression? Soul searching is part of who I am and I am happy with it. Always have been. The journey to the self is a road I have to travel…and the hills and gullies are just part of the ever changing landscape.

      thanks for the continued support and appreciation..
      Can’t say enough about the Numero catalogue some GREAT soul and funk there. Deserves support.

      Like

  3. I like this quote. Sums it up neatly for me:

    Resolve to be thyself; and know that he who finds himself, loses his misery. ~Matthew Arnold, “Self-Dependence,” Empedocles on Etna, and Other Poems, 1852

    Probably means that there’s not much depth to me, but I can handle that!

    Like

  4. Poems. Mathew Arnold. Up there with the best.
    Here’s one by another I’ve been patiently waiting for the right moment to lay on yers…

    A Coat
    I made my song a coat
    Covered with embroideries
    Out of old mythologies
    From heel to throat;

    But he fools caught it,
    Wore it in the world’s eyes
    As though they’d wrought it.

    Song, let them take it,
    For there’s more enterprise
    In walking naked.

    William Butler Yeats

    “Song, let them take it, For there’s more enterprise In walking naked.”…… magnificent!

    poetry : a form of literary art in which language is used for its aesthetic and evocative qualities in addition to, or in lieu of, its apparent meaning…. says it all really… aesthetic, evocative!

    Nothing to be read into there…. or what?

    Like

Leave a Reply

