musicology #426


noExcuses #3

(Brand New Start – Paul Weller)

must have already laid this one down along the way but today it’s in honour of the two most beautiful and inspirational parts of my whole..one of which, (who is 11 years old), said to me the other night

“don’t worry dad, a new start is much better than a bad one”

how’s that for wisdom..choked me and I cried !! took me two days to absorb it but it was while listening to this cut yesterday that the full force hit me like a runaway train and then, (less than an hour later), just to make sure that I didn’t miss the opportunity one of the the other parts of my heart and soul (independently), checked in to ask for MY help..

Bravery and courage come in many forms but children are purity personified and when they knock I am, and will always be, there with door, arms and heart WIDE open.

Just like to add my deep thanks to Paul Weller for also being a huge inspiration and trusted guide on the journey.

“I’m gonna clear out my head,
I’m gonna get myself straight,
I know it’s never too late,
To make a brand new start,

I’m gonna kick down the door,
I’m gonna get myself in,
I’m gonna fix up the yard,
And not fall back again,

I’m gonna CLEAN up my earth,
And build a heaven ON the ground,
Not something distant and unfound,
But something real to me,
But something real to me,

All that I can I can be,
All that I am I CAN see,
All that is mine is in my hands,
So to my self I call

There’s somewhere else I should be,
There’s someone else I CAN see,
There’s something more I can find,
IT’S ONLY UP TO ME

I’m gonna clean up my earth,
And build a heaven ON the ground,
Not something distant and unfound,
But something real to me,
But something real to me,

I’m gonna clear out my head,
I’m gonna get myself straight,
I KNOW it’s never too late,
To make a brand new start,
To make a brand new start,
To make a brand new start.

3 thoughts on “musicology #426

  1. after checking the playlist I see that this, (one of my most inspirational cuts), hasn’t been thrown down before which makes complete ‘sense’ as the cut, (like many others), waits for the ‘moment’ ..
    so it go.
    well this is certainly that moment.

    Like

  2. this is a truly moving and inspirational song, it
    certainly made me shed a tear, he sends the message out loud and clear….the wonderous thing about being a
    parent is that your children NEVER stop being an
    inspiration how ever old ya get.

    Like

Leave a Reply

