musicology #420


BirthdaySpecial

(Paul Weller – Moon On Your Pyjamas)

Inspired by our daughter, (who is 14 today), I am approaching ‘the saddle’ with the intention of getting back in it and even though themusicologist has been silent these last 23 days the music has flowed non stop..in fact without it the probability is that my heart and soul would certainly have imploded. Far too intense and personal to communicate using words, (and even music), but without the dialogue between my heart, my soul, my thoughts and the universal language, (music), as guide reaching the other side would be impossible. Having bounced from the foot of the mountain to the peak on MANY, MANY occasions over the last four weeks and fought a host of demons from the darkest depths I feel authentic peace, empathy, compassion and understanding descending from ‘above the clouds’ which is the title, (for those who have either never heard or maybe forgotten listen here), of one cut that has TWICE helped me to find my feet on the way. Waxed lyrical many times about Paul Weller’s music so I’ll say no more other than thank you Constance from the bottom of my heart.

Baby girl..this one’s ALL yours.

Was that a shooting star I saw,
It’s rare for me to make a wish at all,
Because I feel that I can only hope,
These dangerous time, we are barely afloat,
And I hope the world will heal itself,
And our worn out souls along with it,
So that you will get the chance to say,
That you have seen a better day,

You’ve got the moon on your pyjamas,
And the stars in your eyes,
Sweet child you’re a dream in disguise,
Angels on silver strings hang from above,
Let love and laughter shine wherever you go,

Through your new eyes I’ve come to see,
How beautiful my life can be,
And I’ll keep this wish this time I think,
And blow it in with a kiss upon your head,

And I hope the world will heal itself,
And our worn out souls along with it,
So that you will get the chance to see,
A Summer’s blue sky behind green trees,

Ohhhh you’ve got the moon on your pyjamas,
And the stars in your eyes,
Sweet child you’re a dream in disguise,
Angels on silver strings hang from above,
Let love and laughter shine wherever you go,

Got the moon on your pyjamas,
And the stars in your eyes,
Ohhh sweet child you’re a dream in disguise,

Moon on your pyjamas,
Stars in your eyes

One thought on “musicology #420

Leave a Reply

