musicology #415


Terry Callier #7

(Terry Callier – I Would Rather Be With You)

Like I said yesterday Art is life. Regardless of the way it unwinds we only get one shot at living and sharing it. Today’s profound message is directed at three people..my two children and the woman of my dreams. Yeah I know I have said it before but all there is for me is to tell it like it is and for as long as my Heart and Soul continues to feel it I will continue to express it regardless of the cost. I don’t care about interpretation cause I know the time has come.

I could take my guitar,
And hit the road,
And try to be a star,
That sort of thing just don’t appeal to me,
I could play some one night stands,
Travlin’ light,
A one man band,
But I know,
This is where I’d rather be,

It’s your bright sunshine,
That lifted all the shadows off my mind,
And your sweet love lead me to a brighter day,
So you never have to worry,
‘Bout me leaving you behind,
Wait and see I won’t ever turn away,

Cause you made my dream come true,
And gave my life new meaning too,
And more than anything,
I’d rather be with you,
I’d rather be with you babe,
If I could,
I’d rather be with you,
I’d rather be with you babe,
I surely would,
I’d rather be with you,

Now this ghetto life is hard,
In our concrete front yard,
Nothing grows,
Except a single tree to mark our place,
But the moment that I’m with you,
Girl your light and love shine through,
And then I realise,
That You’re my saving grace,

I could catch that old greyhound,
Head out West and bum around,
Watch the sun set on San Francisco Bay,
But you mean so much to me,
That I could never put you down,
That would be too big a price for me to pay,

Cause you made my dream come true,
And gave my life new meaning too,
And more than anything,
I’d rather be with you,
I’d rather be with you babe,
If I could,
I’d rather be with you,
I’d rather be with you babe,
I surely would,
I’d rather be with you,
Well I’d rather be with you babe,
If I could,
I’d rather be with you,
Oh I’d rather be with you babe,
Surely would,
I’d rather be with you,
Well I’d rather be with you babe,
If I could,
I’d rather be with you,
Oh I’d rather be with you babe,
I surely would,
You know I’d rather be with you,

I’d rather be with you,
I’d rather be with you,
I’d rather be with you,
I’d rather be with you,
I’d rather be with you,
I’d rather be with you

2 thoughts on “musicology #415

  1. Thanks a lot, I mean, I understand the words but thanks for sharing them, he is so underestimated, but so magical…
    A wonderful person pointed him out to me just few days ago, and I already can’t get enough of his music…
    Greetings from Serbia:-)

    Like

    1. Aleksander…magical is the perfect word to describe his musicology
      thanks for taking the time to comment

      Like

Leave a Reply

