musicology #369


SuchIsLife #3

(The Soul Stirrers – Looking Back)

Slipping and sliding from Paul Weller into a slice from the greatest Gospel, (and possibly vocal), group to have ever stepped up to the M.I.C, into the studio or onto the stage, the Soul Stirrers with a fine piece on Sam Cooke and J.W Alexander’s groundbreaking Sar label. I think it’s the majestic Jimmy Outer singing lead on this one backed by Paul Foster, Richard Gibbs, Leroy Crume and J.J Farley. Recorded and released in 1964.

2 thoughts on “musicology #369

  1. soulstirrers they certainly are..I couldn’t have
    put todays slice of wisdom better myself, I just
    wish I sounded like that when I said it! Majestic!

    Like

Leave a Reply

