musicology #250


birthdaybashsoul&funk #5

(Red Hot + Riot – Sade – By Your Side CottonBelly Remix)

having heard from a few of the big guns that tore up the dancefloors during London’s ‘rare groove’ scene of the mid 80’s it’s time for a slice of the ‘close to my heart’ selection that was thrown down by me at the birthdaybash. One of the, (many), things I enjoyed about the ‘bash’ was the opportunity to play the music that I wanted to hear. Normally when ‘playing out’ the brief is to play a certain groove….whether that be Boogie, Funk, House, Reggae but not a cross section. Also the DJ is under pressure as the entertainer apoun who the ‘night’ relies. The Bash on the other hand was no pressure and more of a musical ‘journey to the self’ which I enjoyed immensely.

Anyway…the cut in question is the ‘Cottonbelly’, (Stuart Mathewman), remix of Sade’s ‘By Your Side’ for the tribute to Fela Red Hot + Riot project. For me one of the best pieces of ‘modernista’ around that not only communicates the message, In Spades, but also ‘trembles me marrow’ whenever I have the pleasure of feeling it. themusicologist is a BIG fan of Sade and Fela Kuti, (who also got a spin on the night), and to combine his legendary spirit, Sade’s beautiful lyrics and vocal performance with Stuart Mathewman’s production is a genuine musical treat.

“You think I’d leave your side baby?…
you know me better than that,
think I’d leave you down when you’re down on your knees?…
I wouldnt do that,
I’ll tell you you’re right when you want,
and if only you could see into me,
when you’re on the outside and you can’t get in I will show you,
you’re so much better than you know,
when you’re lost, you’re alone, can’t get back again,
I will find you darling and I will bring you home,

ooohh when youre cold i’ll be there hold you tight to me,
ooohh when youre alone i’ll be there by your side…”

Leave a Reply

