musicology #233


communication #11

(The Wailers – Dreamland)

This one is dedicated to the woman of my dreams who I have had the pleasure of spending half my life with. and even though we are in the process of seperation and our paths are taking different turns I will, (and do), love and cherish her for as long as I draw breath. Yesterday was her 40th Birthday and I wanted to lay this one down especially for her.

As far as I’m concerned this is the Wailers at their best. ‘Bunny’ delivers lead on this one with Peter and Bob harmonising in true Impressions style and is yet another piece of majesty from Coxsone Dodd’s Studio1 label. I grew up listening to and being inspired by Third World’s version of this song from their, (1977), ’96 Degrees In The Shade’ LP and much as I cherish that version this ‘marrow trembler’ brings me to my knees whenever I hear it.

One thought on “musicology #233

  1. This is soooooo beautiful…so soft and gentle a sound, certainly as good to listen to as the Third World version..and thats saying something!

    Like

Leave a Reply

