musicology #135


theGood,Bad&theUgly #2

(Roy Ayers Ubiquity – Ain’t No Sunshine)

part two of the alternative soundtrack selection finds Blondie, (the good), getting his comeuppance from Tuco, (the ugly), for doublecrossing him, (sounds like Blondie wasn’t listening to Tuco’s threat from round one).

musicology courtesy of Jazz Funkers Ubiquity led by Roy Ayers, Vibraphone virtuoso who was given his first pair of mallets at the tender age of FIVE by the instrument’s undisputed champ Lionel Hampton.

this cut is taken from the 1973 Polydor album Red, Black & Green and is, for themusicologist, as good as the Bill Withers original especially as the piece does what all the best ‘covers’ do…bring something fresh to the table.

4 thoughts on “musicology #135

  1. The nice thing about this ‘Ain’t no sunshine’ is that you don’t have to listen to the endless “I know I know I know I know I know” 🙂
    Don’t get me wrong, it’s one of my favourite tunes ever. This one’s different but I really like it, thanks Musicologist 😉

    Like

  2. I know, I know, I know, I know what you mean

    hahahahahahahaha..

    it’s one of mine too. I have another great rendition of it by Jamaican Dancehall singer Anthony Malvo, (who I’m sure you know)

    Like

  3. Listening to this brings back tender memories of the “Bill Withers” period in my life…. his music/message really worked for me.
    P.S. While jumping all over the place in a frustrating attempt at catching up with themusicologist (i.e. being up to speed and commenting on the current post) I’ve gone and lost track of what I’ve commented on!!
    Methinks it’s time to take a break!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

