musicology #94


sixartist, sixtune, sixweekspecial #17

(Alton Ellis – Sun Of Man)

I was out last Saturday night celebrating what I sincerely hope is the start of something BIG for a valued friend who deserves all the success that comes his way. the cat is a constant source of inspiration and I would like to thank him for his support and for showing a way to navigate through these troubled times.

I mention this because it was much later on in the ‘wee wee hours’ of said night while kicking back at a pals house that I attempted to put on a Studio1 compilation, (The soul of Studio1, I think?), that was laying around…But there was one person, (not the man above I hasten to add), who objected with words to the effect of:

“not Reggae…anything but Reggae, I can’t deal with it…just not tuned in to it”

I was tempted to get all Socratic on the unit and challenge him on what he actually meant by those words…but in the spirit of the evening, I let it go..

don’t get me wrong…I’m certainly not suggesting that everyone has to like or listen to any and every form of music but to dismiss it purely because of what you think it might be is, for me, a mistake.

the point I suppose I’m making is that music belongs to us all no matter what our colour, class or creed and Alton Ellis is an emotive singer, full of pathos and musicology that deserves to be heard. a singer, songwriter and performer of the highest calibre who has been an important and valued teacher on themusicologists journey and no matter how many visits he gets this week continues to be a rock on which to tie my musical anchor apoun.

Mid seventies selection on the new york based ‘Clintones’ label.

5 thoughts on “musicology #94

  1. seems to me that reggae has a devoted but not large following which occationally gets bigger whereas guitar based music & hip hop have the energy that ‘clubbers’, concert goers like more;also I’m no expert by any means but the stuff people take in these venues might suit music that is not mellow.I know reggae can be energizing but I’m talking in generalities here

    Like

  2. yep..not forgetting also that Jamaican music is, in many ways, still the ‘voice of the people’. hardly anyone, (and I’m talking artists), has made any ‘mumbosa’ out of it.

    unlike other ‘peoples’ music such as Soul, Hip Hop, Rock, Rhythm & Blues..there’s never been enough money to feed the culture vultures, (managers, promoters, etc). also it has rebelious and political overtones that tap into musics secret power to mobilise people to ‘get up, stand up’.

    serious music is, (more so now), buried under the avalanche of music as commodity. the goal now is to earn out of it so it’s not a calling, (same with teaching, medicine and the like), like it used to be..it’s a job. not trying to say that you have to starve for your art..far from it. but the lunatics have taken over the asylumn now and unless the people take it back, (always that chance), a lot of the ‘beauty’ in it it will be consigned to history..

    Like

  3. could not have put it better mesang, I personally think that its The Particular Energy that”Roots” encourages that frightens most people

    Like

  4. a more appropriate term for the majority of todays recorded sound is Muzak. In this age of unconsciousness it’s not surprising that conscious music is frightening to the masses. it’s much ‘safer’ to listen to pooh..

    Like

  5. in addition it seems to me that in this age of ‘celebrity’ culture reggae music sometimes can be seen as ‘poor mans music’ unlike hip hop which has bling and big bucks at its core now (which suits the corporations) so it suffers from not being trendy etc.

    Like

Leave a Reply

