musicology #11


(Darryl Banks – Open The Door To Your Heart)

taking a detour from the 80’s boogie and providing themusicologists first
service of product. requested by the agingmod, this piece needs no introduction.

two minutes 20 seconds of pure bliss that every time it’s heard warms the cockles of ones heart.

according to a foundation musicologist…this was a BIG tune at ‘the apples’ in deepest, darkest SouthEast London back in ’66 and a genuine Mod classic.

what is Mod? in essence a London born street style from 1962-1966 which has since gone on to be not only internationally known, but also extremely influential both in fashion and attitude. Mod was and continues to be a working class kick up the establishment arse….

12 thoughts on “musicology #11

  1. Many thanks. What a tune! And one which doesn’t just warm the cockles of my heart, it starts the fingers clicking, the feet tapping, the muscles tightening, and best of all…. it brings a great big smile to the face…
    Music… better than any cup of coffee or tea to start the day!!!

    Like

  2. one of the most heart expanding pieces of music I know.. and for those who know the words lung expanding to boot…….it never fails to lift my spirits with its energy and positive message, fanx.

    Like

  3. thats music for you….not only do i know the words but they have inspired me many times to
    “walk right on in…”

    the only criticism I have is that it ends..

    Like

  4. #12 breaks my heart every time I hear it. Then, automatically, comes #11 and I smile. And then comes the spoken intro to #10 followed by “Open Your Mind”…. uncanny!!

    Like

  5. Is it common knowledge that Darryl Banks was shot dead under very suspect circumstances at the tender age of 41/2 by an off-duty police officer?

    It certainly wasn’t to me until, on noticing the oblique obituaries, I asked myself how many of the artists show-cased on themusicologist are still with us.

    Statically the numbers stink… if you know what I mean??

    Like

  6. The best tribute to a sadly missed Darryl Banks is this…..

    “walk right on in,
    stretch out your arms,
    let the love-light shine on my soul baby,
    and let love come running in,
    You know that I needed you,
    I’ve needed you a long, long time,
    my pride is to much for me baby,
    and I’m about to lose my mind,

    walk right on in,
    let your love come running in,
    open the door to your heart baby,
    open the door to your heart,
    open the door to your heart,
    and let love come running in,

    let your love come running in,
    let it flow like the river,
    let it shine like light,
    take all my blind soul,
    why don’t you give sight,

    I’ve tried to keep from loving you,
    but I’ve been loving you a little too long,
    darling, darling, you’ve been so sweet to me,
    that’s what keeps my love so strong,

    walk right on in,
    let your love come running in,
    open the door to your heart baby,
    open the door to your heart,
    open the door to your heart,
    and let love come running in,
    let you love come running in,
    let it flow like the river.

    Like

  7. yep..many an artist dies young. but on the other hand they live forever…

    and in the words of William ‘Smokey’ Robinson..

    “everybody’s got to pay some dues”

    highest highs….lowest lows

    Like

  8. Yeah, trouble is….. some “somebody’s” seem to me to pay a disproportionate amount of them “dues”…. where’s the balance? Where’s the justice?

    Wrapped up in a pound/dollar/euro note is my belief.

    Like

  9. or in the words of Billy Bragg

    “this ain’t a court of justice son,
    it’s a court of LAW”

    (I would put world in place of court ‘mesang’)

    Like

Leave a Reply

